Najgoretsze wstawki

Autor: Xio
Data: 29 Wrzesień 2010
Kategoria: Archiwum

Ludwig van Beethoven - The Piano Concertos; Choral Fantasy, Op. 80 (1977) (Live album)

Ludwig van Beethoven - The Piano Concertos; Choral Fantasy, Op. 80 (1977) (Live album)

Ludwig van Beethoven - The Piano Concertos; Choral Fantasy, Op. 80 (1977) (Live album)
EAC Rip | FLAC (tracks + cue + log) | No scans | 3 CDs | 730 MB (RAR 4% Rec.)
Genre: Classical

For at least a half century Beethoven's piano concertos played a central role in Rudolf Serkin's repertoire. In 1941 he recorded the "Emperor" with Bruno Walter and the New York Philharmonic, and nearly a decade later he embarked on the full cycle with Eugene Ormandy and the Philadelphia Orchestra. Serkin's stereo remakes retained Ormandy in Nos. 1, 2, and 4, leaving Nos. 3 and 5 for Leonard Bernstein. Serkin essayed the cycle yet again in the early 1980s, this time with Seiji Ozawa and the Boston Symphony. Numerous broadcast airchecks, officially released and otherwise, also flesh out the picture. Yet out of all the Serkin Beethoven concerto cycles on disc, the present one, recorded over the course of three concerts in October and November of 1977, offers the most consistent artistic and sonic satisfaction.

The slightly distant yet attractively robust engineering conveys a cogent sense of concert hall-realism, and not just to the benefit of Rafael Kubelik's superb Bavarian musicians. It also reveals Serkin's elusive, difficult-to-record sonority in more flattering, three-dimensional light than the gaunt, often monochrome impression one gleans from his Columbia Masterworks sessions. Furthermore, the recordings back up my memory of many live Serkin performances concerning the pianist's ability to specifically project and gauge his sound according to venue: in other words, to "play the acoustics" as well as play the instrument (this holds true of similarly "unphonogenic" pianists like Vladimir Horowitz and Alfred Brendel). As a result, the concentration and inner tension Serkin brings to the slow movements comes off with more warmth and sustaining power.

Although Serkin at 74 may not have been the impetuous, fiery virtuoso in the first three concertos' finales that he was in his 40s, when he recorded them for CBS Masterworks, his technique nevertheless is still assured, alert, and responsive, and far more energized than in his relatively careful and labored collaborations with Ozawa.

However, Serkin must have drunk from the fountain of youth before hitting the stage for the Choral Fantasy (Kubelik, too, for that matter). The performance radiates inspiration from start to finish, highlighted by Serkin's ardent yet cannily structured opening cadenza, the chamber episodes' zestful give and take, plus massed choral and orchestral tuttis that at once communicate elemental power and textural clarity. Let's hope this major addition to Serkin's discography will encourage Sony not to leave its own Serkin edition hanging.


01 Piano concerto No. 1 C Dur Op.15 I. Allegro Con Brio.flac 65.30 MB
02 II. Largo.flac 37.26 MB
03 III. Rondo. Allegro.flac 35.54 MB
04 Piano concerto No. 2 B Dur Op.19 I. Allegro Con Brio.flac 53.39 MB
05 II. Adagio.flac 29.51 MB
06 III. Rondo. Allegro Molto.flac 24.45 MB

01 Piano concerto No. 3 in c, op.37 I. Allegro con brio.flac 62.64 MB
02 II. Largo.flac 32.72 MB
03 III. Rondo. Allegro.flac 37.03 MB
04 Piano concerto No. 4 in G, op.58 I. Allegro moderato.flac 74.40 MB
05 II. Andnate con moto.flac 17.73 MB
06 III. Rondo. Vivace.flac 39.37 MB

01 Allegro.flac 81.55 MB
02 Adagio un poco masso.flac 26.73 MB
03 Rondo Allegro ma non troppo.flac 40.58 MB
04 Adagio Finale Chor des Bayerischen Rundfunks.flac 72.73 MB[

Aby zobaczyć ukryty tekst musisz być zalogowany, jeżeli nie masz konta zarejestruj się!

Podziel się !

Delicious'da Share  Share on Facebook  Friendfeed Share  Google Shared  StubmleUpon'da Share  Digg'de Share  Netvibes'de Share  Reddit'de Share RSS Feeds Subscribe!

Przeglądasz witrynę jako gość.
Dlatego zachęcamy do rejestracji lub do zalogowania się.

Użytkownicy z rangą Gość nie mogą dodawać komentarzy.